Testimonials

AOA is unsurpassed in attention to the needs of our guests – whether it is making sure you have the best possible bike rental experience or organizing and leading the best guided hiking and biking adventures in the Southwestern U.S. Our strength and our success is a result of finding experienced, passionate and talented people with a commitment to the outdoors and then working together to create extraordinary experiences for our guests.

Why Go Guided with AOA?

What our guests have said about us:

“What more can I say? Alex made the trip a lifetime memory and we are all keen to do another trip with your company. I’ve done many cycling trips all over the world and I’ve never done a better trip than this one.”

Lindsey, Tucson and the Old West Cycling, January 2017

“We had planned to do this trip without guides but couldn’t get permits. I’m so grateful for that now because the guides made this trip so much more than it ever could have been had we gone on our own. Not only was it nice not to have to prepare our own meals or figure out the logistics of planning but they taught us about the area, gave us stories and history, showed us things we wouldn’t have noticed, took us to places that we couldn’t have found on our own and it made all the difference!”

– Jen, Havasupai Escape, June 2016

“I so recommend this adventure into the Grand Canyon. Our guide, Dove was fun, approachable, skilled, knowledgeable, and made sure we had a great experience. She treated us with lots of TLC (excellent blister prevention) and several surprise treats. Dove also made the trek doable with loads of hiking tips and strategies. She was very patient and thorough, always open to answering questions. Clearly Dove knows her way around the Grand Canyon and Phantom Ranch. I am ready to do the Havasupai Falls trip with her. Training pays off, be prepared.”

Carol, Phantom Ranch Hiking trip, April 2016

“Amazing it was so beautiful! I love that we got to see so many different waterfalls and did things other people without guides would never have gotten too! The hike out was the hardest but they took they’re time with us. Not having to worry about tents, food, cooking and plans was nice so that even on a schedule we got to enjoy it without it being work. I would 100% recommend AOA this experience could not have been better!

– Shelby, Havasupai Escape, April 2016 

“This trip was top notch all the way. We signed up for it because we couldn’t get our own reservations, but we were really glad we did. The entire trip couldn’t have been better including all aspects of it. Thanks for a great time.”

Mary, Grand Canyon Rim to Rim 2015

“I was a little hesitant because I’ve done this hike without a guide service. But I am so glad and grateful for having gone with AOA.”

Kristen, Phantom Ranch Hiking 2015

“The food was fantastic! At first I had not understood why I was getting strange looks about the can of clam chowder I had hauled down into the canyon, and in my defense, I had not known that there was going to be an entire kitchen assembled at the camp site, and what a great cook our guide turned out to be!”

– Joseph, Havasupai Escape 2015

 “I couldn’t imagine having a better leader/guide! He was organized, thoughtful and very knowledgeable. I appreciate everything he did to make our trip very special.”

– Barb, Havasupai 2015

“I just wanted to let you know how great you guys are at what you do. We just finished up a trip to Yellowstone with [other outfitter]. While the park was awesome the guides, service, and attention to detail fell well short of what we have come to expect when traveling with you. Thanks again for your great service and keeping the bar high. We look forward to traveling with you in the near future.”

– Ryan

“I cannot say enough about the high quality service provided on the trip. The scenery was spectacular, but (the guides) made the trip even more enjoyable. Outstanding service!”

– Robert 

“It is not often in life that you have experiences that truly change you. I want to thank all of you for sharing and providing me with the perfect opportunity.”

– Valerie

“Thank you. (The Guides), most fearless of all leaders, gave me a gift that was totally unexpected. It has been a long time since I felt adventuresome and wild the way I did on my trip. Their encouragement and support challenged me, and I found myself doing things and going places I never thought I would have dreamed of. I loved it all…”

– Megan

“Thank you, thank you, thank you, for an amazing week. We felt cared for (spoiled even), protected, and adventurous. (The guides) made very strong, lasting impressions us. Their dedication, playful spirit and laid back nature made for a perfect combination. What an incredible feeling to be awe-inspired every day.”

– Tammi

Reviews from TripAdvisor

“My friend booked a kayak tour for us to take down the salt river and it was absolutely AWESOME!! we had the best time . . . it was a beautiful morning. Rob and Terry were early to meet us and are super nice, friendly guys! We had a dry bag and plenty of water and snacks available to us if needed. Rob was our knowledgeable guide and Terry was there waiting for our return. It was the perfect beginning to our vacation and I would definitely do it again!! If you are interested in a kayak adventure, don’t hesitate to book with aoa. You won’t regret! Thank you Rob, Terry, and AOA!!”

– Trip Advisor Review, June 2013

“The bikes are all clean, well maintained, and high end. This is the best rental place I’ve dealt with yet, for selection, service, and price.”

– Trip Advisor Review, May 2013

“I rarely post any reviews but my experience, while simple was just great! An avid cyclist and wanting to start training for the season, I rented a Trek Madone 5.2. The pickup experience was perfect, the bike flawless and the return experience quick and easy. I felt the price for the 2 weeks was fair and all employees that I encountered were real professionals. I recommend this company and will undoubtedly be a repeat customer!”

– Trip Advisor Review, Feb 2013

“The only place to rent bikes in the valley. Helpful staff falling over themselves to equip you for your adventure. Located extremely close to McDowell Sonoran Preserve which offers a grew place to mountain bike through desert with grand man views and towering saguaro cactus. I am keeping their number for my next visit to Phoenix.”

– Trip Advisor Review, Dec 2012

 Read more reviews on TripAdvisor